Florian Krammer and Alessandro Sette Elected to the American Academy of Microbiology Class of 2023

SpotlightMarch 16, 2023

Dr. Florian Krammer, Center for Research on Influenza Pathogenesis and Transmission (CRIPT), and Dr. Alessandro Sette, St. Jude Center of Excellence for Influenza Research and Response (SJCEIRR), were recently elected to the American Academy of Microbiology’s class of 2023. 

Headshots of Dr. Florian Krammer (left) and Dr. Alessandro Sette (right)
Dr. Florian Krammer (left) and Dr. Alessandro Sette (right) elected to the American Academy of Microbiology Class of 2023.

Dr. Krammer is a Professor of Vaccinology in the Department of Microbiology and Department of Pathology, Molecular and Cell-based Medicines at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. His CEIRR research is focused on improving the understanding of broad immune responses that are directed toward RNA virus surface proteins to inform future vaccine and therapeutics development. Additionally, Dr. Krammer is the Principal Investigator of the Sinai-Emory Multi-Institutional Collaborative Influenza Vaccine Innovation Center (SEM-CIVIC), where his lab conducts research aimed at developing influenza vaccines that confer longer-lasting protection against a broad range of influenza viruses.

Dr. Sette is a professor within the Center for Autoimmunity and Inflammation and Center for Infectious Disease and Vaccine Research at the La Jolla Institute for Immunology. His research defines and tests the structures recognized by the immune system, known as epitopes, to characterize what constitutes effective and ineffective immune responses to a variety of diseases. Dr. Sette’s work with CEIRR focuses on assessing T cell and memory B cell profiles against SARS-CoV-2 variants. His laboratory’s most recent work has centered around investigating the immune evasive properties of emergent and biodefense-related diseases, with the goal of informing the development of novel therapeutics. Dr. Sette has also played an integral role in the development of the national Immune Epitope Database (IEDB), a freely available comprehensive multi-species epitope catalog and bioinformatics tool suite. 

As one of the world’s largest scientific societies, the American Society for Microbiology (ASM) has elected more than 2,600 researchers over the past five decades to its leadership group, the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM). Nominations are conducted each year by current AAM members and nominees are reviewed by the Academy Subcommittee on Elections and Governors. The academy’s mission is to recognize individuals for their accomplishments in and service to the field of microbial sciences as well as their dedication to high ethical standards. Congratulations to both Dr. Krammer and Dr. Sette!

For a full list of the 2023 American Academy of Microbiology fellows click here.